American vision

Am I a mediocre software engineer? (see details)

#Experienced? @Quora  Am I a mediocre software engineer? or the interviewer sucked lemmons(see details)

Answer by Clay Loveless:

As others have said, it might be worth considering his suggestion.

But here's what I can tell you: I went to college to study acting. I learned programming (hacking HTML and perl scripts in the mid-90s) on my own because I didn't want to go the typical starving actor route of waiting tables.

Oh yeah: I started getting "serious" about learning things like OOP when I was twenty-nine.

I had interviews like the one you're describing. I don't have a CS degree, and still have to look up words like "polymorphism." I still think "transmogrifier" every time I come across it.

Despite all these alleged shortcomings, I have started and sold two SaaS businesses, am now an advisor to several other SaaS businesses, and am working on a new one of my own.

I'm probably a mediocre coder too. But if you ship, and it works, and customers pay and are happy, who cares?

F that guy. Code on.

Am I a mediocre software engineer? (see details)

Leave a Reply

