American vision

Why do most programmers prefer Macs?

Answer by Markus Nigrin:

Everybody has a story and my Windows vs Mac story might give you an answer.
I was a die-hard Windows user & coder. It makes a lot of sense writing code on the OS you write software for and Windows always was my primary target. Used a friends Mac for some graphic stuff at times, always disliked it. When I wanted to write stuff for iOS I took the easy path and bought my first Mac, reluctantly so. Also the first time for me using OS X 10.5. Took a few months and I madly fell in love with it.
Think of the Windows registry, BIOS settings, msconfig, etc. Complete waste of time and with each new PC and Windows version it felt I was doing more of it. Enter the Mac and this amazing OS.
The productivity that machine offered was eye-opening for me. It booted fast. It didn't get slower over time. It woke from sleep in a second. Apps didn't bog it down. No virus scanners being all egocentric with the machine's resources. And a great screen, key when you write software.
Apple got me when I was weak, in the most convincing way possible. Now true, things are changing, Apple making some questionable choices, MS getting better but that's not what you asked.
This is how I learned to love the Mac and still do. They are powerful, beautiful and overall they just work, which is what I need.

Why do most programmers prefer Macs?

Leave a Reply

